Preserving and promoting the legacy of the Fulbright story in Maine and beyond

Our Board

Fulbright Award & Location

Elaine Potoker, President
Director – Interloqui
Professor Emerita of Intl. Business & Logistics
Maine Maritime Academy, Castine, ME USA

Elizabeth Eames, Vice President
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Bates College, Lewiston, ME USA

Greg Zaro, Treasurer
Associate Professor and Chair of Anthropology
University of Maine, Orono, ME USA

Richard Brown, Secretary
Retired, Non-Profit Healthcare and Social Services

Core Award (Teaching/Research), 2007
Senior Specialist Award (Economics), 2012
Costa Rica

Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Research Abroad
Fellowship, 1985
Core Award (Teaching/Research), 2013
Friend of Fulbright

Christine Beitl
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
University of Maine, Orono, ME USA

Celeste Branham
Vice President for Student/Community Services
Director of the Partnership for Civic Advancement
University of Maine, Farmington, ME USA

Frank Hubbard
Retired; former Dean of Behavioral Sciences
Husson College, Bangor, ME USA

Robert Lively
Dean Emeritus
University of Maine, Farmington, ME USA

Dan Sandweiss
Professor of Anthropology and Climate Studies
Director – School of Policy and International Affairs
University of Maine, Orono ME USA

Dorothy Klimis Zacas
Professor of Clinical Nutrition and Cooperating Graduate Faculty
School of Biomedical Sciences & School of Food and Agriculture
University of Maine, Orono, ME USA

Student Fellowship (Doctoral Dissertation Research), 2009-2010

International Administrator’s Award


Core Award (Teaching/Research), 1994


International Administrator’s Award, 2000

Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation on
Research Abroad Program (1983-1984)
Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program (1979-1980)

Core Award (Teaching/Research), 1995, Greece
Senior Specialist (Agriculture), 2008, Italy
Senior Specialist (Agriculture), 2012, Italy